Try filming, instead of taking photos

Looking through old photos is one of my favourite pastimes.

I’ve always been interested in people’s lives, how things change, how they adapted to the changes, what became of the change—and one of the ways to follow the changes and see how things worked out is to flip through photos.

I’m not a professional photographer by any stretch, but I prefer candid photos over posed photos. I have nothing against professionally staged photography, but when I look through an album of family photos, I want to se my dad lifting me up with one arm, and my brother with the other and my cousins and I all dressed up in costume and performing in Baba’s basement.

In the TV part of our Media Production course this semester we had the opportunity to film a video montage set to music. We had complete creative freedom to film whatever we wanted. Although I had some prior experience I’m still a newbie as far as shooting footage with DSLR cameras and editing with Adobe Premiere is concerned.

This was a fun project. My classmate and I staged a photo shoot with a few friends and filmed the behind the scenes, preparation and execution of the shoot. I’m so proud of what we created.


This assignment reminded me that while pictures may have 1000 words behind them, a video tells the story on so many other levels. The sound of laughter or of someone’s voice, even of background noise if the location of the footage is specific – can evoke a deeper connection to the situation than perhaps a photo could on its own.

I’d very much like to capture more video footage. I’m lucky to have a flip video camera and hope to start keeping and saving a video diary of sorts to this summer.

Capture moments that matter – so that when you need a reminder of just how great you’ve got it, you’ve got proof.

-Enjoy the ride.

2 thoughts on “Try filming, instead of taking photos

Leave a comment

