Sponge Hockey Tournament for the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Manitoba

**This is a Creative Communications related post.**

My independent professional project (IPP) is a go!

I chose a promotional IPP.
The plan includes the development of an original project that must be proposed (and approved), completed and marketed.

Here’s the idea in a nutshell: host a one-day sponge hockey tournament with an after-party/social to follow. The round robin tournament will be open to anyone 18+ and all skill levels are welcome. The day will be fun, and we’ll all be encouraging overall heart health and physical activity.

I’m excited!!! And I’m so glad I didn’t get the “this is too ambitious” speech from my panel. The amount of work I’ve set myself up for is incredible, and as with every project I work on I’ve set my expectations very high.

I want to raise $5,000 for the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Manitoba. I’m glad to be working with a charity that promotes healthy lives free of heart disease and stroke. The Foundation supports, funds and raises awareness about local research and programming related to heart disease and stroke.

I hope to show that heart disease has many faces and takes on many forms. Heart disease can be the heart attack itself, but it can also be the buildup of fatty materials or scar tissue around the heart that lead to other issues. Heart disease can be multiple conditions that affect the structure and functions of the heart and has many causes.

I can’t express enough thanks to the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Manitoba for its support of this event.

I’ll post updates on this blog, Twitter @Sarah_Tone and the event’s social media pages (once created).

What you should know is:
– The tournament and social will take place on a Saturday in February 2014, in the south end of Winnipeg.
– Donations will be accepted online and in person.
– Fundraising goal is $5,000
– Schedules and team registration are TBA and will be posted online.

Anyone interested in registering a team, volunteering for this event, or donating to this event whether monetarily or in the form of silent auction prizes please comment on this post and we’ll be in touch!

Leave a comment

