Try going to an exhibit

I miss the MTS Centre Exhibition Hall. I went to the Titanic: The Artifact Exhibition exhibit four times. I saw the Da Vinci – The Genuis exhibit twice. Each time I couldn’t wait to go back. Each time I left excited for the next exhibit.

Then, “they” decided to demolish it. *sad face*

Luckily the Manitoba Museum hosts exhibits of all kinds in its halls.

Last year, I went to the Circus! Science under the Big Top exhibit. The hall wasn’t as big or as elaborate as I’d thought it would be, but the intricate design of the exhibit, the informational panels and the interactive displays more than made up for that – especially for younger kids.

Last week, I went to see Dinosaurs Unearthed. The robotic dinosaurs were in full movement – breathing, walking and digging into the ground. The kid in me was amazed that I was that close to a T-Rex.

Key word there:kid

This exhibit was clearly geared towards children and families. My boyfriend and I were the oldest non-parents there. The facts and fossils were super interesting, but the overall setup with the digging for fossils station, crafts area and scavenger hunt, was definitely intended to appeal to a younger audience.

I appreciate the efforts of the museum to acquire enough interesting exhibits to rotate through the hall. Though I was slightly disappointed this time, I’m eager to see which exhibits the museum will host in the coming months.

Dinosaurs Unearthed is showing at the Manitoba Museum until Sunday, April 7, 2013.

Current museum hours:
Tuesday to Friday: 10 am to 4pm
Saturday and Sunday: 11 am to 5pm
Mondays: CLOSED

Dinosaurs Unearthed admission prices:
Adults: $14
Youth, Students & Seniors: $12
Family (2 adults and up to 4 youth): $50
Museum Members save 50% on regular admission!

Have you been? Planning to go? What are your thoughts?

Here are some photos I took of the dinosaurs.

– Enjoy the ride.

SAM_2926

SAM_2923

SAM_2909

Leave a comment

