Try the sock bun, in 5 easy steps!

I’m a fan of the sock bun. I like its round shape, I love that it gives volume to my otherwise thin, boring hair, and that anyone with medium to long hair can try it!
I got more compliments than I could count (not that I was counting…) when I wore my hair in a sock bun last week. Each person asked how it was done. Read on friends!

sockbun4

What you’ll need:

2 hair elastics

Dress sock (cut the tip of the toe off with scissors, so the sock is open at both ends)
OR
“Bun maker” (mesh doughnut shaped hair accessory – available at Claire’s, London Drugs, Wal Mart etc.)

Bobby pins (optional)

Hairspray (or mousse)

If using a dress sock (I do) turn it into itself, and continue to roll it until it forms a doughnut shape.
You can try sock buns with wet or dry hair. Either way, if your hair is thicker, work a little mousse in before you get started.

I have thin hair and use a thin, brown dress sock.

*TIP* The thicker the sock, the thicker the volume of your bun.

Here are the 5 sock bun steps:

1 Brush your hair back into a ponytail. Up high, or low on your head is fine, works either way.
sockbun5

2 Pull the loose end of your ponytail through the center of the sock (doughnut).

3 Roll the sock down your ponytail and tuck your hair into it as you go. (towards your head)
sockbun71

4 At the base of your ponytail, tuck in any remaining ends and make sure the sock is covered with hair. (here’s where the optional bobby pins come in)

Add some hairspray to keep everything in place, and you’re officially sock bunnin’.

sockbun21

Google and YouTube have long lists of tutorials and different sock bun styles. Take a look and find your perfect sock bun style.

Have a sock bun tip to share?
Who do you think is rocking the best sock bun right now?
Let’s hear it! Comment and let me know how it works for you.

-Enjoy the ride.

6 thoughts on “Try the sock bun, in 5 easy steps!

  1. Whoa this hairstyle looks much easier to make than I thought it would be! I should try to make a mini sock bun with my shorter hair. I never know what to do with it other than straighten it haha.

  2. I am currently wearing a sock bun, so I thought I’d share how I do mine!!

    -Pull whole pony through the sock (sock will sit at base of pony like the scrunchies we all remember all-too-well)
    -Bend over (it helps to have gravity on your side) and spread hair to cover sock
    -Hold hair-covered sock with one hand and start tucking and wrapping ends of hair around sock bun
    -Secure any stray ends with pins and spray for flyaways.

    Found a video of exactly what I mean: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgDyBrx8ZZI

    This can be a LOT easier than rolling the hair as you go! 🙂

  3. Thanks for the tip Laurie. I’ve tried that way, again I think it’s a thin-hair thing, maybe? Just didn’t work for me.

    Karen, I’m glad I’ve enlightened you. Funny how people grow out their hair to style it in updos.

Leave a comment

