Try drinking smoothies, not missing the most important meal of the day!

I’m a huge fan of breakfast, but with early classes and a crazy work week it’s not easy for me to get things started as early as I’d like.

Enter smoothies.

I typically mix frozen fruits, fresh bananas, yogurt, soy milk (or skim), chia seeds and whatever other ingredient (s) I have a craving for that day.
**TIP** I’m not a fan of eggs or fish so I get my omega 3s from chia seeds. (I also add them to cereal and soups.) Buy them in bulk at Bulk Barn and save big-time.**

One of the greatest things about smoothies is how easy they are to customize. Add ice, water or juice, flavor packets, or protein, calcium, or energy powders to enhance your smoothies.

Frozen fruits are best in my opinion. They keep much longer than fresh fruit, the taste isn’t any different, and you don’t have to add ice to the smoothie to keep it cool.

My favourite frozen fruit mix is the no name 5-fruit-blend found at Extra Foods. It has strawberries, peaches, honeydew, pineapple and grapes. I prefer blends that have fruits I don’t usually have at home to try different combinations.

I haven’t tried vegetable smoothies yet. I sometimes pack carrots, cucumbers or bell peppers for lunch, or use veggie juices in my smoothies. I’ve heard great things about spinach and kale based smoothies. I personal am having a hard time getting past the green colour and texture I assume a kale or spinach based smoothie would have.

For a thicker smoothie, add yogurt. Plain yogurt is your best bet here unless you’re counting on a strong taste from flavoured yogurt.
**TIP** Adding ice will also help thicken a smoothie**

For a smoothie that’s easier to drink without a straw, add water or juice to the mix. Cranberry, blueberry and pomegranate juices are great options and are high in anti-oxidants.

Here are a couple of my favourite recipes!
Feel free to add ice for thickness or powder for additional benefits! Customize away!

Yum!

Yum!

Choco-coco-banana
1 c soy milk
1 banana
2 tbsp coconut (I always add more!)
1 tbsp coconut extract
2 tbsp cocoa powder

Fruit Explosion

1 c soy milk
1 banana
1 + ½ c frozen fruit mix
½ c plain yogurt

I’m always looking for new recipes. I haven’t tried too many powders or add-ins for additional benefit yet. Do you drink vegetable-based smoothies? I’d love to hear your thoughts.
Questions? Ask! Share!

4 thoughts on “Try drinking smoothies, not missing the most important meal of the day!

Leave a comment

