Try Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips, not stickers/imitators.

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips are REAL NAIL POLISH strips.

Their website says:
Sally Knows nails are the best accessory. Now, Sally makes it easy to get a salon effect any time, any place. It wears like nail polish because it IS nail polish. No dry time, so you’re ready to go.

The box the strips come in says:
Peel & apply, no dry time, lasts up to 10 days!

They’re super simple! Their simplicity motivated me to try these strips to compare to cheaper, other nail stickers.I’ve used a drugstore brand, Claire’s and Sephora nail stickers and they’ve chipped and peeled. Sally Hansen got it right by finding a way to use real nail polish.

Stickers or decals are usually popular because of their bejewelled styles. Jewels never stick. You’re better off trying a sparkle or glitter infused nail polish for that effect. Another alternative, if you’ve got a steady hand, is to buy some nail glue and some jewels and glue them on individually yourself. (having a dotter tool or toothpick will help you loads here!)

Sally Hansen’s strips come in a bunch of prints and solid colours. I’ve tried a handful of different prints. My favourite so far is Aflorable.

Steps to apply are as follows:

Aflorable.

First – Pick your print. (solid colours are available too if your hand isn’t too steady or you don’t have time to wait for painted on polish to dry.) I’m a fan of the prints because it’s not something I can do myself and gives a really unique look.

Second – Make sure your nails are clean, no polish remover residue or clear polish coat. Just like with real polish, the strips need a rough surface to stick to.

Third – Open your box and read the instructions – five steps – super easy.
Instructions are as simple as the box says: peel & apply
Take out the stick and nail file, you’ll need both.
(This tiny box includes all you’ll need for your at-home manicure.)

Fourth – Choose the sizes that best fit your nails, lay them out. I’ve found it doesn’t matter which hand or finger you start with. Peel the backing off and press the strip down firmly to the shape of your nail.

Fifth– Use the little wooden tool that came in the box to help press the strips down. (This helps prevent the strip from slipping and bubbles -lesson learned!)

The strips will likely be too long for your nails. Trim with your nail clippers and file the strips down to match up with your nail length using the pink nail file.

Sixth– Repeat on each finger.

TIP: Seal with a clear top coat. The strips should last up to 10 days but a top coat is always good to have.

Aflorable

Removing the strips is simple. They’re made with real nail polish, so nail polish remover works just fine. They’ll last as long as you take care of them – like real polish.

STYLING TIP: LOTS of styling options here. Use different colors or prints on individual nails, or one pattern on one hand, another on the other, or one nail with print with the rest a solid colour. Mix it up!

The best part about these strips is a three-way-tie between the ease of application, the no-dry time and that they last so long on my nails! I haven’t had any issues with peeling or chipping. I usually only have to take them off once my own nail has grown out enough to notice.

There are a couple downsides. The strips won’t fit perfectly to every finger and will require trimming to get a tight fit. Also, we only have 10 digits, and you’re given 16 strips – for mistakes or for different sized nails- those ones won’t get used. Once out of the package, if not used, they’ll dry up just as if you had left the lid off your liquid nail polish. (because they’re made with real nail polish!)

The patterns are attractive, the price is nice and definitely cheaper than a manicure, also quicker and lasts just as long, even longer if you take proper care of them!

The good outweighs the bad bigtime. I highly recommend Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips. 25 stars and 6 thumbs up. Try them!

Comment here and let me know how they work for you!

-Enjoy the ride!

5 thoughts on “Try Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips, not stickers/imitators.

  1. I used these a couple of times last summer (2011). I got the Christmas kind, they were silver with red poinsettias, and they peeled off my nails after a few hours. I was so disappointed! I have not used them since. :-/

    • That’s super disappointing! Did you have any nail polish remover or lotion on your nails before applying?
      I’d recommend giving them another shot, even though you’ve been burned. I’ve tried at least 10 different styles and haven’t had any issues with them.

  2. I saw the Sally Hansen salon effects nail strips and thought they would be interesting to try – and I’m glad I did… though I don’t think that the results justify the price. (Compared to a fantastic bottle of polish.) I’ve heard that they are a good alternative to the time spent painting your nails, but I found that they probably took twice as long, even though there was no drying time. (Plus I still did a clear top coat, so longer still…)
    They were easy enough to apply once I got the hang of it, but a little finicky to start. Right away there were some ‘chips’ (or peels?) at the edges, despite having used the tool to ensure the edges were pressed down, but they were pretty minimal and since I chose a really busy print (the tattoo-inspired Tattoo Much) they weren’t very visible. The strips survived a LOT of handwashing, and only started to peel slightly on the 5th day. They didn’t noticeably chip at all within those 5 days. I know it’s not great for my nails, but I peeled the strips off then (instead of using remover) and they came off easily.
    If they were on sale… I’d get a cool pattern, but I wouldn’t bother with the plain colours – I can get the same look for way less with a bottle of polish.

Leave a comment

